Posted in D.I.Y.

Frugal Girl – Finally Tried the Fabric Softener

So, after learning about the Fabric Softener concoction on Sunday, I re-washed the load yesterday and forgot to even put in the Fabric Softener, so I opted for the third try tonight. On the third try, I didn’t make it in the rinse cycle, so I didn’t figure it really counted. On the 4th try, I correctly added the homemade softener into the rinse cycle, immediately transported to the dryer after the wash was complete, and it was . . .

okay, just okay.

Our Fabulous Envelope System

All of that trying, only to discover that it is adequate when the Dave envelope is empty, but I still really prefer a great recommendation that came to me from my girlfriend, Niki – half a lid of my Snuggle filled to the rim with vinegar makes it go further, gets the clothes cleaner and aids in keeping the washer clean.

Did any of you ladies have a different opinion? Post if you tried the homemade softener. Do you like it, hate it or have another D.I.Y to make our laundry fresh and budget friendly?

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

One thought on “Frugal Girl – Finally Tried the Fabric Softener

  1. I make my own detergent and have recently started using a concotion for fabric softening.

    I would never get it in the washer at the right time though.

    I just have a bowl of vinegar with several drops of essential oil so it doesn’t stink. I have a few baby washcloths I keep in there. When I put a load in the dryer, I wring out a washcloth and throw it in the dryer.

    I notice a bit of static sometimes, but everything is soft and smells nice.

It's Your Turn to Share!

