Posted in Proverbs 31 Wife

Proverbs 31 Journey – Praying Boldly for Our Kids

So today, I am switching from the Proverbs 31 Wife to the Mother but there is a correlation from my last post – I want my children to fear the Lord as they grow in our home, and the best way I know to make this happen is to PRAY, PRAY, PRAY!! It is my desire for my children to have lives that glorify God, friendships that are true and futures that follow God’s Will. I don’t want my kids to make poor decisions or get involved in the “wrong” crowd. I don’t want my kids to be pressured by their peers. And, I’m not certain I will know what to do if we are faced with such situations. 

You see, God sheltered me from these situations. I was blessed to grow up with amazing girlfriends that I cherish more and more with each passing year. I was blessed to be part of a strong youth group at Woodlawn CP Church in Paducah, Kentucky, where I was led in the Word by a fabulous couple – Darin & Joy Lampley and many other church members that invested in our lives with teaching and praying. Another piece to the puzzle of my life was the influence of older youth group kids that allowed me to be me without the pressures of entering high school – they were “cool” Christian teens that made it “cool” for me, and I am so thankful that they took care of me time and time again. I never really felt “peer pressure”, I never experienced teen girl “drama”, and I am scared to death as to how to handle such situations if they are to happen in our home. 

So, I have come to the conclusion that I MUST stop being scared and start praying BOLDLY (instead of begging God and hoping). My CEO always says that hope is not a plan. I must stop hoping and start praying with expectation. God has entrusted me with 3 precious children, so He must be capable of doing a mighty work in our family. I want to pray more boldly over my kids. And by boldly I mean with more confidence and authority. 

James 1:5-7 reminds us, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man,unstable in all he does.”

As a mom, I want to be single-minded on the reality that if God entrusted these kids to me, I am the exact mom they need. And as the rightful holder of that position, I will believe not only in God but I will also believe that I have what it takes to raise these kids right. As long as I ask for God to help me each day, I can be the mom I need to be.

 

Therefore, I have begun to pray 3 things over our children:

1. I pray they grow up to be some of the most Godly people in their sphere of influence.

2. I pray that they would be caught when they make wrong choices.

3. I pray that God would save them from the wrong friends and save them for the right friends. And that goes for their future spouses, as well.

 

Sweet sisters, being a mom is not for the faint at heart. Be encouraged that God led you to read this post today to remind you, you are a good mom! I need that reminder often. You are the exact person He picked to be the mom of your kids. Now, walk in that sweet encouragement and awesome responsibility!

Join me in praying for your kids. Share how you pray for your children. These are simple. I need simple. 

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

6 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Journey – Praying Boldly for Our Kids

  1. So glad you shared this! I think I’ve been having the “hope” theory instead of expecting God to answer my prayers.

    I have vivd memories of my mom and dad praying specifically for Marcie, Melody and I. I now pray the same things they did and the things you mentioned in this post for Will. I also always pray that he receives Christ at a young age and will follow God all of his life, never straying from him.

It's Your Turn to Share!

