Posted in Proverbs 31 Wife

A Worthy Woman

Is there such a thing as a worthy woman? I know that I will never be worthy of God’s love. I know that I need to daily humble myself before God with a desire to worship Him despite my unworthiness. But, I also know that no matter how unworthy I am of His love, He always pours His love into my life with abundance.

One of the ways in which God pours His love on me is through my husband. When I think of how thankful I am to be Nathan’s wife, I am always reminded that I was headed in another direction at one point in my life. And, I am so thankful that God was in control, that God allowed me to learn and struggle still protected in His arms.

As I strive to be worthy of God’s love, I want my path to also be a journey worthy of my husband’s love – not just a love that has grown in him, but a love that ignites in him, a love that will blossom with passion even in the midst of nasty diapers, a messy house, misunderstandings, laundry piles, late nights at work and sleep deprivation.

So, in my attempt (I wish I could think of another word right now for “attempt” because I really want to say that I am doing terrible in my attempt.) to become a Proverbs 31 Wife, I have learned that my relationship with God is the first step in gaining the discipline I need to be that love-igniting wife I long to be for Nathan. And from there, I have a lot of work to do if I want to get to the praises of my husband! The praises don’t come until Proverbs 31, verse 29 . . . wow, it’s going to take me a while – maybe I should name my journey the 31 Year Journey, but I probably still won’t have it all right in 31 years!

Proverbs 31:10-31: Description of a Worthy Woman

10 An excellent wife, who can find?
For her worth is far above jewels.

11 The heart of her husband trusts in her,
And he will have no lack of gain.

12 She does him good and not evil
All the days of her life.

13 She looks for wool and flax
And works with her hands in delight.

14 She is like merchant ships;
She brings her food from afar.

15 She rises also while it is still night
And gives food to her household
And portions to her maidens.

16 She considers a field and buys it;
From her earnings she plants a vineyard.

17 She girds herself with strength
And makes her arms strong.

18 She senses that her gain is good;
Her lamp does not go out at night.

19 She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
And her hands grasp the spindle.

20 She extends her hand to the poor,
And she stretches out her hands to the needy.

21 She is not afraid of the snow for her household,
For all her household are clothed with scarlet.

22 She makes coverings for herself;
Her clothing is fine linen and purple.

23 Her husband is known in the gates,
When he sits among the elders of the land.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them, 
And supplies belts to the tradesmen.

25 Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.

26 She opens her mouth in wisdom,
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

27 She looks well to the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness.

28 Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:

29 ”Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”

30 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.

31 Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates.

If you are like me, it always makes you feel good to hear someone else with the same struggles, so if you want to read about another wife on her Proverbs 31 Journey, you should check out Tiffany’s Blog. I am always amazed when God brings just the right person into your life to teach you just a bit more about His love and grace.

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

2 thoughts on “A Worthy Woman

It's Your Turn to Share!

