Posted in Inspiration

Leaving a Legacy

I have had many people in my life that have invested in me, but tonight, I want to touch on a couple that has invested in me and Nathan – Jeff & Roberta Biggs. As Jeff & Bert prepare to move where God has called them to serve, it makes me reflect on what they have meant to Nathan and I over the past 13 years.

We first met the couple when Jeff began serving as our Youth Pastor, needless did we know that they would become so much more to us over the years. We soon both journeyed away to college, but made sure to visit with Jeff & Bert any weekend we were in town . . . they had become some of our closest friends. We called it a great night when Nathan & Bert stayed up to watch a movie while Jeff & I fell asleep during the previews on the chair and couch respectively. Nathan also enjoyed fun times with Jeff at the farm (though, Jeff never managed to make a hunter of Nathan) while I enjoyed shopping and chatting with Bert. They taught us a lot about being a couple that served the Lord simply by watching them interact with one another in such a real way.

I credit Bert with connecting me with great friendships that I still hold dear today. The first came when she introduced me to Cathy Snyder (Feely) the summer before I entered Bethel College (now University . . . I’m getting old, my college changed names!) Cathy remains a close friend, and I continue to be amazed by her unwavering faith.

We share lots of funny memories with the Biggs family, but one in particular would be when my car was stolen. I came home one weekend to surprise my mom while I knew my dad was away, and little did I know that she had decided to take a trip to Chicago! So, I didn’t want to waste my time alone at my parent’s house and headed to Jeff & Bert’s to crash for the night. The next morning, while taking a shower, a knock on the bathroom door alerted me to a missing car. Jeff drove all around the neighborhood looking for my car, but it had been stolen. That is one of those stories that is kinda cool to tell people, you know, it’s great for the “2 Truths & a Lie” game.

When the time came for Nathan & I to get married, we knew without a doubt that Jeff would marry us, and anyone who attended our ceremony found out why – he knew us like no one else and made it so special for us. I also knew that as an only child with lots of “2” groups in my life at that time (2 best friends, 2 amazing cousins, 2 spectacular friends from college) that I couldn’t possibly pick a Maid of Honor out of that group, so I wanted to ask Bert to serve as my Matron of Honor – she had invested in our relationship like no one else and she had become one of my closest, dearest friends that I knew would be in my life for a lifetime!!

With Jeff & Bert having started their family by this time and us living in another state, life got crazy, and we didn’t get to have our get togethers as often, but every time spent together has always been so relaxed, so fun and just really special. I love that we can always just pick right up with Jeff & Bert. I love that Bert introduced me to another special friend that I hold near and dear, Carrie Moore. I love that I know even with the Biggs family moving to Illinois, if we need them, they would be here in the drop of a hat. I love that I know they are serving God first and foremost. I love that Bert will cry when she reads this and Jeff will make fun of me. I really just love this family and the way that they have always loved my family. We have truly been blessed by Jeff & Bert and we look forward to many more fun times in the future!

Check out their blogs to see even more proof of their coolness:

The Preacher’s Wife

The Pastor’s Desk

And, wish them well as they surrender to a new adventure in Fairfield, Illinois! I know that it is going to be tough for them to leave the family they have joined over their past 8 years of service within New Hope Church. New Hope people, you have loved them like they needed to be loved, you have truly been their family, and I know that you will remain in their hearts.

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

3 thoughts on “Leaving a Legacy

  1. Yep…dork!!!! With a topic like this, I bet this post shuts down the whole wordpress server. We’re thankful for you. Especially thankful you made me sound like a Mormon with the whole sleeping together thing!!! Love you guys!

    1. At no point, did I mention sleeping together, but to clarify, Jeff would always fall asleep in his chair, and I would fall asleep on the couch. We would be awoken upon the end of a movie with Bert and Nathan talking about how great it was!

It's Your Turn to Share!

