Posted in Inspiration, Proverbs 31 Wife

It’s Been A While . . . Been Thinking A Lot

It has been a while since I last blogged. I intended to be so good, but I had an issue with my blog that took me away for a month, and the habit has been hard to return to my daily life.

As I return, I want to share something that has been on my heart a lot in the past month. I have been thinking a lot about being the wife that truly respects and admires my husband in everything that I do. This means so much – this means that I refrain from lecturing because I’m not his mom, this means that I let him lead our family, this means that I cook him his favorite foods, wear his favorite clothes, seek his advice and honor him in all that I do.

As I look around, I see less of us allowing our husbands to be pampered by us. And, while I would be first in line to receive the pampering, I must also show my husband how special he is to me because God gave him to me as a gift, a gift to cherish.

God calls me (and you) to delight in our spouses. This takes work. This takes communication and forgiveness (and me letting go of the little things). This takes energy when we’re exhausted. This takes going to bed earlier, getting more organized so we have more time, being stricter with kids so we have time to ourselves and learning how to shut our brains off of all the things we worry about. It takes dealing with our baggage and dealing with his baggage. It takes seeing one another as beautiful gifts. No, it’s not easy. But, it’s why God has given us the blessing of a partner.

Let us not fill our minds with things that will hurt our husbands. Let us not compare our husbands. Let us be thankful for our husbands and show them how grateful we are to share life with them. I would not make it in this day-to-day life without the amazing man that walks alongside me each and every day.

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

2 thoughts on “It’s Been A While . . . Been Thinking A Lot

  1. Ah! Aretta, thank you for this!!! I am definately with you on this. We share the goals of desiring to please our husbands and show them respect and admiration. Often times I get funny looks when I say something that supports me doing that by leaving early from a function or declining an invitation or even down to what I wear because I know he likes a particular color or style better!!! This post is so encouraging to me. Yes, yes, yes!! 🙂

  2. A friend of mine also recently mentioned that it is hard to share with some of her friends that she didn’t want to go see “Magic Mike” because they immediately began to bash her husband as a “controller”. It’s so sad that we live in such situations. He was not being controlling when he shared that he would rather her not go, he was sharing his heart with the love of his wife and she was respecting him (while also respecting her heavenly Father.)

It's Your Turn to Share!

