Posted in Recipes

Baked Spaghetti

This recipe has been a favorite of mine since it was first introduced to me by an amazing lady that became second family to Nathan & I during our tenure in Fulton, Missouri. I will forever remember the first time I had the fabulous dish – we were moving into our first home when Donna stopped by with the special delivery. I never think about sending dinner during moving time, but it was a great treat.

I love sharing this dish with friends when they bring home a new baby, so I recently shared it with Cory & Aleshia Edwards. I felt really super cool when Aleisha said that Cory would love to have the Baked Spaghetti that I made for them when their first son, Cole was born. There are very few people in this world that actually request a dish from me, so that must mean that this recipe is fabulous.

 

Actually, I can only think of one other thing that ever gets requested – Chex Mix (a request from dad and the only thing that I can actually make better than mom).

Baked Spaghetti

1 medium chopped onion (I only use 1/4 to 1/2)         ½ teaspoon pepper

2 lbs ground beef, browned and drained                     ½ teaspoon garlic salt

2 Tablespoons butter                                                   12 oz angel hair spaghetti, cooked and drained

1 (28oz) can crushed tomatoes                                    2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1 (8oz) can drained sliced mushrooms                        2 cups shredded monterey jack cheese

1 can drained sliced ripe olives (black)                        1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup

2 teaspoons dried oregano                                           ¼ cup water

1 teaspoon salt                                                              ½ cup parmesan cheese (I use fresh)

1 large chopped green pepper (I only use 1/4 to 1/2)

In a large skillet, sauté onion and green pepper in butter until tender. Add tomatoes, mushrooms, olives, oregano, salt, pepper, and garlic salt. Add cooked beef. Simmer uncovered for 10 minutes.

Place half the spaghetti in a buttered 9×13 (or larger is better) baking dish. Top with half of the beef/veggie mixture. Sprinkle with half of chesse mixtures. Repeat layers. Of course, the more cheese, the better. This last time, I actually used the nacho taco mix of cheese instead of just monterey jack.

Mix soup and water until smooth. Pour over the casserole. Sprinkle with the parmesan cheese.

Bake uncovered at 350 for 45 minutes or until bubble around the edges. It makes A LOT, so it would be a great idea to bake half and freeze the rest for another day.

Freezes great! Just bake for 1 hour instead of 45 min! Enjoy! =)

Special thanks to Amanda Roselius for sending me this recipe!

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

2 thoughts on “Baked Spaghetti

It's Your Turn to Share!

