Posted in For My Book, Inspiration

Dear Young Christian Girls

I really wish that I could travel the world talking to young girls about relationships and their future husbands. I actually pray that God will open doors to allow me to share with His daughters how they have each been specially created for one man. It is my heart’s desire to see young ladies make commitments to their future husbands. And, it is my prayer that my daughters will never give away a piece of their heart before saying “I do”. 

With this being said, I want to take a moment to share with Christian girls and women alike.

I know that you are searching for love. Stop searching. It’s hard. Our society tells us from a young age that we need a boyfriend. It really makes my blood boil when I hear people ask my little girls (ages 3 & 4) if they have a boyfriend. I don’t even want them to know about boyfriends!

You think you have found love. Ask yourself this question – “does he possess the qualities I want in my future husband?” I know it sounds crazy if you are 14 years old, but it will protect you, I promise. I am so thankful that this question was given to me as a young girl from a friend’s grandmother. Never date a guy that you would not consider marrying. Don’t waste your time!!

This doesn’t mean that the next guy you date will be your future husband. Don’t play like you are married. I dated a guy in high school that did have a lot of the qualities that I desired in my future husband. We prayed together. We worshiped together. We fasted together. We read scripture together. But, he did not treat me like his future wife. He was a nice guy. He taught me a lot. But, I regret that I stayed in our relationship for so long. I regret that I let myself get so serious. I regret that I neglected my friendships to be with him. I regret that I neglected my family to be with him. But, I don’t regret the relationship. The relationship taught me what I truly wanted in my future husband and made me so very thankful when I began dating Nathan. From the moment he picked me up for our first date, gift in tow, I knew he was pretty darn special!

Make a decision now to guard your heart and save yourself for marriage. Make a decision to remain abstinent until your wedding day. That will truly be the greatest gift you can give your husband and your family. I am so thankful that Nathan & I had protected this gift for one another. A decision I made at the mere age of 13 partnered with a desire to live fully for God (coupled with an out of this world fear of my earthly father) has truly blessed me and our marriage. It is a blessing that I want every bride to experience.

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

One thought on “Dear Young Christian Girls

It's Your Turn to Share!

