Posted in For My Book, The Crazy Life

What an Amazing Testimony

A friend from Missouri, blog follower, blog writer, fellow mommy of 3 and all around great gal who is so gracious to actually read my blog and make me feel cool (and even comments on my posts occasionally) recently shared a blog with me that I just have to share with each of you. She shared the blog after reading I Must Become Less

This blog is the journal of an amazing mother and wife who is battling a brain tumor and its side effects all while living her life as a shining example of Christ’s love.

Weekly Update #22. This is her latest blog, but I encourage you to go to the beginning of her story.

She has an amazing testimony.

What is your testimony? We talked about sharing our testimonies this morning in Sunday School. We all have such different testimonies. Some of us gave our lives to God as young children, others as teens, some as adults, and some of us can’t pinpoint a moment that we gave our lives to God. Our testimony begins with how God called us into His family. If you cannot recall that change, the change did not happen.

I always think it is so cool how God works our Sunday School conversations with the words He speaks through our pastor in the main service and God did just that again today! Bro. Rick shared a really great quote from a father who described his lost daughter,

“We had our daughter in church. We did not have our daughter in Christ.”

What a terrible revelation to come to as a parent – raising a child that never has a testimony of God’s love! Having our children in church is fabulous! (We are so thankful to be members of an amazing church that has accepted the responsibility to love, guide, pray for and teach our children.) But, it is much more important to have our children in Christ. God has entrusted them to us, it is our responsibility to teach them and grow them in Christ. He tells us this in Deuteronomy 6.

Some of our most special moments as a family are spent praying with our children and reading our nightly devotions. Once we began this, there were times that Nathan & I were frustrated with them because bedtime had been chaotic, there have been times that it was “too late”, but the girls will not accept us not praying and reading together each night – we are thankful for their accountability. I pray that their desire to grow in the Word will become more and more passionate as they grow in age.

We are by no means the home that we need to be. We are doing about 2% of what we need to be doing, so I’ve been doing some research tonight about teaching our children.

I love this interview with Kay Arthur –

Teaching Your Children to Study the Bible

This book has also been recommended to me. It’s definitely going to have to go in next month’s budget!

Big Truths for Young Hearts

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

5 thoughts on “What an Amazing Testimony

  1. Wow! What an awesome statement and eye opener to have your child in christ! I never really thought about it but so truthful!

It's Your Turn to Share!

