Posted in Inspiration

Pray in Expectation

This has been a time of praying and expecting God to do a mighty work in our family. What a great way to pray knowing that God has us in His hands, He has exciting plans for us AND His will is perfect. God truly wants us to be happy, content, joyful and excited about our path. God wants to do a mighty work in our family (and your family).

But, how often do we truly expect God to do a mighty awesome work in our lives?

How often do we pray without expecting God to answer?

In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice.
In the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.
(Psalm 5:3 NIV)

David had a need, he had a prayer, and he had an expectation.

In our family, we have a need, we have been praying like crazy and we are expecting for God to do a mighty work!

But, we are not always praying with such readiness. We get caught up in day to day routine, we get caught up in being in control. And, while I hate not being in control, it is in these times that I truly love my communion with God . . . waiting to see His Will unfold and expecting it to be a great plan!!!

How many times do we pray for something and then forget what we have even asked of God? I need to get back to keeping a prayer journal so that I can see the cool ways in which God answers prayers.

Ask, and it will be given you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Or what man is there among you who, if his sons asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you then, being evil, know how to give good things to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him! (Matthew 7:7-11)

I love the parallel to our children. We would never desire to give our children less than what they need, so why would our Heavenly Father who can give or take away anything give us less than what we need. Our Heavenly Father wants to bless us beyond measure!

I’m not saying that I’m expecting to win the lottery tomorrow (we don’t even play)!

The expectation in which I am referring to arises out of a proper orientation of the heart, focusing ourselves on the Lord.

Jesus said, If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. (John 15:7) 

You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name He may give you. (John 15:16)

Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full. (John 16:23-24)

You see, this is all about Jesus — abiding in Him, being chosen and appointed by Him, asking the Father in His name. If it were all about us, our prospects would be limited and doubtful, and our heart would accuse us: “You’re not worthy.” But because it is all about Jesus, we can expect to walk in His joy, experience His fruitfulness, and have our prayers answered just as His were answered — because He is worthy!

As I close this evening, I ask that you pray for our family as I pray for your family. I am excited to share God’s mighty work in our life very soon!!

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

One thought on “Pray in Expectation

It's Your Turn to Share!

