Posted in For My Book

Today, A Special Day

I don’t normally write a post about my life in general, but today has been one of those days that I want to be sure and document as a reminder to myself of the glory of God and His amazing blessings.

Today was to be a special day in itself because today has been a celebration of our youngest child’s 2nd birthday.

 

Celebrations with him are so special because we know (unless God has other plans) that this is the last time we will reach these milestones, this is the last time we will have an innocent little two year old. Being that our kids have been so close in age, we have been so blessed to get to enjoy the “terrible twos” for the first time. Not that we didn’t enjoy them with the girls, but with Nate, we have time to really be in the moment with him since we are not tending to an infant in the same moment.

While I feel so blessed, I of course still have those moments of “mommy guilt” that cause me to feel awful for not being able to fully enjoy the girls as one and two-year-olds. But, life is getting to be so much more manageable, which is allowing us to have lots of special moments with our girls, too!

Before the big party, we spent morning worship at our home church, Woodlawn. What a special church!! I always feel the warmth when we walk in the doors. The people of Woodlawn are such a gracious family of believers ready to open their arms to God and His people no matter their circumstance. We had such an amazing time of worship! I loved how their pastor truly invited the congregation to worship in song with the soloists and worship leader. The Spirit of God was an amazing presence as we lifted our hands and hearts to God. Woodlawn memories will always be near and dear to my heart. I am who I am today because of God’s hand at work in me through the work of Woodlawn.

The service was the first worship service that the girls have been a part of since being old enough to ask questions. We are so thankful for our church’s nursery and children’s church, but it was kinda neat to have the kids with us (well, except for the loud outbursts and inability to ever concentrate fully in a prayer). I enjoyed being able to worship in song with them. I loved exposing them to the presence of God in such a mighty way today. I loved seeing Evylee pray along with us. I loved that one of the worship songs was a song we sing together in the car! I loved that the girls got to see where Mommy & Daddy were married. I loved talking to Evylee about the call to pray at the alter.

After worship, a quick trip through the McDonald’s drive-thru (Nate’s birthday pick) and naps (well, not everyone), we got to celebrate Nate’s construction themed birthday party with friends and family. I’m thinking it was the best party, yet! Low stress, low chaos, a happy little boy and great friends and family who helped cook, clean and even manage take-toys-out-of-boxes-that-require-screwdrivers-and-scissors for a precious little boy who thinks the world of Mr. Joel Zuber.

We are truly blessed. Today has been a special day, a day that will not happen again, so thank you God for creating today for us.

Author:

I am a mom of 3 adorable kiddos born in 3 consecutive years. I juggle daily with work outside of the home, managing a family, keeping a house, connecting socially, loving and adoring my husband, and seeking to grow closer with my heavenly Father each step of the way . . . however, this blog will prove my inadequacies in all of the mentioned areas. Humbly, I pray that as I journey through this world of blogging, I will grow closer to my Father and others will be drawn to His feet in praise, as well.

It's Your Turn to Share!

